I am exactly 22 weeks pregnant today and I can’t believe where the time has gone! I’m over halfway now and time seems to be moving quicker than I expected.
So far the pregnancy has been progressing well.

I imagined before I got pregnant that it would be a real struggle, something I couldn’t handle, maybe because I wasn’t grown up enough to deal with it (I’m 32 for God’s sake!) or I’d be too much of a ‘wuss’ to handle it. But so far, so good. I think a lot of people underestimate themselves. I suppose the real test will be at the end! 

So how has my second trimester been so far? 
How I am feeling: To be honest, it’s been similar to what other people said it would be… much easier than the first trimester!! Apart from getting tired easily and feeling sick some mornings (yes I still feel sick even now sometimes),  it hasn’t been that bad. I definitely have more energy and feel better in myself than in the first T.

Baby movements: I’m feeling not just flutters and bubbles now, but actual moves and kicks from the baby! It’s just amazing, like nothing I have experienced before! The first time I felt slight movements, I was a little freaked out but now, I love and look forward to feeling them. There is now a real pattern in the time of day or night as to when I get the most movement!

Baby bump: My belly has grown quite a bit now… No mistaking it for anything else other than pregnancy! People actually comment, saying “what a cute bump you have?!”. I guess there is more growing to come though… I can’t see how much further I can grow though! I think I will have a shock and 30 something weeks! My pregnancy pillow has been my saving grace and I don’t know what I would do without it at night to help me get comfortable.

So I had the 20 weeks scan – what’s the verdict? 

Baby Boy or Baby Girl! I’m having a girl!! I am so very excited I get to have a little girl, a ‘mini me’! She was doing great and everything seemed normal on the scan, so we’re very grateful for that! I already can’t wait to see what she looks like and hold her.


Have we got a name? No definite name on the cards yet, so we are still having fun deciding what we like or don’t like. It’s so hard to choose! How do you decide on a name when there are so many?!

Anyway…

For now, there is not much else to tell. I have booked on some classes, and started doing some research into what I need to get and so on. There are so many things to think about! I went into a Mothercare store the other day and I didn’t know what to look at first or where in the world to start! So many choices of baby stuff. Pen and paper at the ready to start planning!

I hope you’ve enjoyed the little update! Speak soon.

Alicia x

