I thought I would do a little entry about love and relationships since it was my first wedding anniversary this week. My husband and I have been together for over 7 years and we have never spent more than 24hours apart (okay maybe once, when he had to work away for a few days). That should tell you that we are freakishly close. I don’t know how we haven’t ripped each other’s heads off already! Some people might find that a bit too much and look forward to their own space and time away from their partners. I do like my own space, and enjoy times when I go shopping on my own or meet up with friends. But mostly I would rather be with him. Most times we are in the same room doing separate things but it’s comforting to know that we are in each other’s presence.


So why do we get on so well together? 

1. Shared Interests

We love the the same things. We enjoy watching films (mostly horror and adventure). We also like documentaries on the universe, people and culture, and conspiracy theories! We have our favourite TV series that we tune into as well. We also LOVE sunny days and going outdoors to explore nature.

2. Talk to each other:

We literally talk about everything and have loads of banter. There is nothing that we hide from each other. If we have a problem (with each other) we address it straight away. It just makes life easier. If I have a problem with him or visa versa, we try to do it in a non-confrontational way and say “look, I don’t want you to take this the wrong way, I just need you to understand..”. Obviously sometimes we snap at each other over ridiculously petty things, but most times we can just talk. When we are at work we try to text each other or call to see how the day is going etc.

3. Love letters

I don’t know if anyone else does this, but after 7 years he still writes me little love notes and letters and sneakily puts them either by my car keys in the mornings or where I will find them before I go to work. This is so lovely! I will never get tired of them. I also write him little notes now and again. I have always loved handwritten letters. My grandma sent us a hand written letter last week (she lives in America) and I was so excited to read it. It gives me such a good feeling getting letters in the post that aren’t bills or some random business correspondence.

4. Appreciate the little things:

We do not live an extravagant life and that’s the way we love it! We don’t expect anything from each other or do things because it is expected or to show off. An example is birthdays; we are not crazy over birthdays (ours), so won’t necessarily do big expensive gifts or do obligatory parties because it is a birthday. We like to take it easy and if we feel like going out the day after, we will. We might decide we want to stay in and get a takeaway or decide to go on holiday in the next school holiday and that will be our celebration. We love going somewhere nice and hot for a relaxing holiday, so more than likely, that’s what we end up doing. We also get such pleasures out of simple walks in a quiet park, or a drive through the country appreciating the scenery.

5.  Best Friends

We both just love each other’s company. We are each other’s best friend and I suppose that’s why we get on so well together.

There are lots of other things that we do that makes us ‘click’, but I’ll stick to 5. What makes you and your partner click? Can you add to my 5? Let me know if you share any of mine.

Alicia xx

