First blog post, and I so didn’t think I would be mentioning politics! But it’s not really about politics. It’s about life. Your life. My life.  How do you direct or take control of your own life?image1(2)
 
When I went to bed last night, I was convinced that we were going to wake up the next morning and things were going to be the same. That Britain was going to remain in the EU (so it should). I genuinely thought that, so the whole debate (Leave/Remain) didn’t even bother me. 

I woke up and I was utterly speechless! I was half asleep and heard the TV ” the decision that was made over 30 years ago was over turned”. We were suddenly out of the EU (in theory). My first thoughts were, what does this mean going forward? What is going to happen and how will this affect our lives? I mean really! 
It was hard not to go into over drive with my thoughts. Then I remembered that I have to live in the “NOW”. We only have this current moment. The past, the future, ‘in an hour’s time’ doesn’t exist. We only have now!  Which I learnt a few years ago (listening to Eckhart Tolle, a spiritual teacher and author) and ever since then, when faced with a ‘what might feel a brick wall’, I always try and remember this to try and re-focus on the present. 
 
The decision has been made and all we can do now is look forward and hope for the best and make our lives the best we can.  Whether it’s to do with politics, our lifestyle choices, our attitude. We can act and take control of what is immediately in front of us. 

I decided that I didn’t want to have a rubbish day, because If I followed my thoughts, that’s what was going to happen. Today I could a) go into work, moan about the decision all day long and have a ‘pity party’ with everyone else and all be sad together. b) acknowledge the outcome, but TRY to at least be positive which can only do more good than harm. 
 
I know that being positive and staying focused always work for me. I will set myself a little goal for the day and work on it. It’s not always easy.  Plus you have to accept what you can’t change and deal with it the best you can. Sometimes I do forget to do all of that and want to do nothing more than scream into a pillow or strangle someone! However today, I was determined to take control of My life. 

It might sound cliche and simple, but you can make your own life what you want it to be. Why not steer it in the direction you want it to go? 

Hope you’re having a good day. It’s almost the weekend! Whether or not the weather is lovely this weekend, make your own sunshine! It’s what I intend to do.  Today, I had one of my insta friends in mind @whattheshujj as I know she was quite low this morning after the news. Sending big loves!
I think I will problably send everyone to sleep with this (too long?) If you read this let me know how you are doing! Feel free to leave a comment 🙂   Happy Friday and enjoy the weekend x

Love, Alicia xx 
